417 - Tuition, Fees, and Refunds for Credit Classes

417 Tuition, Fees, and Refunds for Credit Classes

P-417.1 Effective with the summer session each year, credit tuition and fees are as follows:
  1. In-District Students
    $103
  2. Out-of-District, In-State Students
    $154
  3. Out-of-State and International Students
    $216
  4. In-District Students for Online Courses
    $118
  5. Out-of-District, In-State Students for Online Courses
    $169
  6. Out-of-State and International Students for Online Courses
    $231
  7. Senior Discount – Any Missouri resident 65 years of age or older on or before August 1 of a school year may enroll in college credit courses on a space available basis, on a tuition-free scholarship (does not include course fees or books). Proof of age is required at the time of registration. All tuition-free courses may be taken on either a credit or audit basis. All course prerequisites must be met prior to registration.
  8. Other Fees:

    Admissions Application Fee

    $10

    Graduation Fee

    $30 during the regular application period

    $50 during the late application period

    Transcript Fee

    $5 per transcript

    Assessment Appeal Fee

    $10 (no charge for first assessment)

    Nursing (RN) Program Application fee

    $25

    Returned Checks

    $20 per check

    Technology Fee

    $8 per credit hour

    External Testing Fee (non-refundable)

    $25 for tests taking 1-3 hours

    $40 for tests taking 3 hours or more

    Music

    $200 for 1 credit hour individual lessons

    $400 for 2 credit hour individual lessons

    Lab Fee – Art Courses

    $35 per course

    Lab Fee – Science Courses

    $40 per course

    Nursing & Allied Health Fee

    $825 per semester

    Health Education Services, Inc. (HESI) Examination Fee

    $45

    Computer Science - Networking Course Fee

    $100 per course

    Welding Program Fee

    $825 per semester

Pr-417.1.1

Other fees, as indicated below, may be assessed based on program/course requirements:

Lab Fee – Scuba $80
ADN/LPN/OTA/HIT Liability Insurance $13.50 per year, paid in fall semester
Critical Thinking Exam NPN 101 $20
Critical Thinking Exam NPN 152 $20
Nursing 200 Course $100 National Curriculum fee
Education 210/211 $15 DFS background investigation fee
Drug Screen/Background Investigation as required in specific health-related programs $105
P-417.2 Out-of-District status will be waived for an individual whose tuition and fees are being paid by an in-district business, company, or organization.
Pr-417.2.1 In order to qualify for the above waiver, the student must provide a letter from the employer on company letterhead stating that the tuition is employer paid.
P-417.3.1 Missouri Returning Heroes Act
To comply with the Missouri Returning Heroes Act, tuition charged to combat veterans will be limited to fifty dollars per credit hour. Eligibility is determined, for any program leading to an undergraduate certificate, or an associate or baccalaureate degree. A “combat veteran” is any person who served in armed combat after September 11, 2001, who was a Missouri resident when first entering the military, and who was discharged from military service under honorable conditions.

If you would like to apply, please submit a copy of your most recent DD-214 (long form) and the Returning Heroes Education Act Application to the Enrollment Services Department located in the Administrative Building, Room 1113. Your documentation will be reviewed to determine if you meet the criteria to be considered for reduced tuition. The Office of Enrollment Services will determine the amount, if any, that your tuition will be reduced.

P-417.3.2 Active Duty Military Tuition Charges
To comply with the Higher Education Opportunity Act, SCC will charge in-state tuition rates for any member of the armed forces who is on active duty for a period of more than 30 days and whose domicile or permanent duty station is in Missouri. Eligibility is also extended to the service member’s spouse or dependents. The in-state rate will apply so long as the service member, their spouse or dependent is continuously enrolled at SCC, notwithstanding a subsequent change in the permanent duty station of the service member to a location outside of Missouri.
P-417.3.3 Military Veterans and Eligible Dependents Using VA Benefits
To comply with Public Law 114-315, known as the Jeff Miller and Richard Blumenthal Veterans Health Care and Benefits Improvement Act of 2016, Section 417, SCC will charge in-state rates for military veterans who meet any of the following criteria:
  • Anyone using educational assistance under either Chapter 30 (Montgomery G.I. Bill – Active Duty Program) or Chapter 33 (Post-9/11 G.I. Bill) of Title 38, United States Code, who lives in Missouri while attending a school located in Missouri (regardless of his/her formal State of Residence) and enrolls in the school within three years of discharge or release from a period of active duty service of 90 days or more.
  • Anyone using transferred Post-9/11 G.I. Bill benefits (38 U.S.C. § 3319) who lives in Missouri while attending a school located in Missouri (regardless of his/her formal State of Residence) and enrolls in the school within three years of the transferor’s discharge or release from a period of active duty service of 90 days or more.
  • Anyone described above while he or she remains continuously enrolled (other than during regularly scheduled breaks between courses, semesters, or terms) at the same school. The person so described must have enrolled in the school prior to the expiration of the three year period following discharge or release as described above and must be using educational benefits under either Chapter 30 or Chapter 33, of Title 38, United States Code.
  • Anyone using benefits under the Marine Gunnery Sergeant John David Fry Scholarship (38 U.S.C. § 3311(b)(9) who lives in Missouri while attending a school located in Missouri (regardless of his/her formal State of Residence).
  • Anyone using transferred Post-9/11 G.I. Bill benefits (38 U.S.C. § 3319) who lives in Missouri while attending a school located in Missouri (regardless of his/her formal State of Residence) and the transferor is a member of the uniformed service who is serving on active duty.
P-417.4

Refunds – If a student withdraws from a credit course or from the College during the first 3 weeks after the start of the semester, a refund will be processed based on the date that the student withdraws.

If a student withdraws from a credit course or from the College, the student may receive a tuition refund for that session or semester provided an Add-Drop Form is completed and filed with the Admissions Office within a specified time, or the student withdraws online via SCC Connection. The date of the Add-Drop form or the date the online drop is completed is used to determine the percentage of eligible refund.

Percent
of Refund
Time Frame of Refund
100 Midnight on the first day of the semester through 11:59 p.m. on the seventh day.
80 Midnight on the eighth day of the semester through 11:59 p.m. on the fourteenth day of the semester.
60 Midnight on the fifteenth day of the semester through 11:59 p.m. on the twenty-first day of the semester.
Pr-417.4.1 Refund amounts are determined by specific dates within each semester for all credit classes and will be prorated for courses less than 16 weeks in length.
Pr-417.4.2 A full refund of tuition and fees is made if the College cancels a scheduled class.

Content Owner: Todd Galbierz - tgalbierz@stchas.edu
Page Updated by: Julie Parcel - jparcel@stchas.edu
Date Issued: 08/1993
Revision Dates: 08/05/2009, 11/15/2010, 02/08/2011, 03/14/2011, 03/19/2012, 06/18/2012, 03/18/2013, 02/18/2014, 03/23/2015, 06/15/2015, 04/18/2016, 06/20/2016, 03/20/2017, 07/17/2017

SCC logo

4601 Mid Rivers Mall Drive
Cofttleville, MO 63376

info_desk@stchas.edu
636-922-8000

© 2016 St. Charles Community College.